Five countries, including Nigeria, are to start anti Boko Haram operations along their national borders to combat insurgency.

Also, Nigeria, Cameroon, Chad, Niger and Republic of Benin, agreed to establish the Multinational Joint Task Force headquarters by November 20, 2014, Punch reports.

This came as a result of Monday, October 13, meeting of member-states of the Lake Chad Basin Commission (LCBC) and Benin Republic on Security in Abuja.
Providing the draft resolution to the United Nations (UN) and the African Union (AU), Nigeria’s Minister of Foreign Affairs Amb. Aminu Wali lamented over the high level of crimes being committed by Boko Haram insurgents in the sub-region.

Thus, according to him, it was decided to set the reasonable legal framework for effective military activity against the terrorists in the sub-region.

After the detailed discussion the LCBC states were said to have adopted the resolution to the UN Security Council and the AU and were ready to direct it to the Heads of State, LCBC member-states government and the Republic of Benin.
It would be recalled that Cameroonian President Paul Biya earlier today assured Nigerian authorities of his country’s commitment to fighting against Boko Haram “until it’s totally wiped out”.